Big, Beautiful Bows

I love, love, love the tied turban/scarf fashions of the 1940s.  They are so simple in construction yet they can make such a statement if done well.  Bad hair day?  No problem, put a bow on it.  Too busy to monkey around with a fussy do?  No problem, put a fancy bow on it.  And I am not generally one who favors bows.  Ever.

But I like these.

Found this beauty on the Because Hats tumbler page

Found this beauty on the Because Hats tumbler page, 1946

Crocheted, mesh turban wrap

Crocheted, mesh turban wrap, 1940s

Early this summer I made up a great pattern for a turban wrap that has a gloriously huge bow tied in front.  I love the pattern but I struggled with getting the bow to look nice and neat.  I would get one side of the bow nice and the other side would be crap or I would get it looking good and the bow would loosen up and I would be back to square one. Basically I could never relax when I was wearing it because I was always worrying about whether the bow looked like a bow or just a mess of fabric.

These two look fantastic but that was because I was fixing them on the Styrofoam heads and not on my own.

Floral turban wrap by Sweet ginger Vintage

Floral turban wrap by Sweet ginger Vintage

Found this beauty on the Because Hats tumbler page

Found this beauty on the Because Hats tumbler page

I was working on some more scarves this afternoon, testing one out and getting generally frustrated with my inability to easily tie a decent looking bow.  Now I am sure some of you have much more patience than I do but if it takes me longer than three minutes to put my scarf on and look presentable I’m over it.

Rubber bands.  Two, itty bitty, little rubber bands.

Scarf of your choice and two small rubber bands.

Scarf of your choice and two small rubber bands.

First wrap your scarf to the point that you would normally tie the bow.  Instead of tying bring the bow tails together and wrap tight with a small rubber band.  Adjust your scarf and fabric.

Tails wrapped together

Tails wrapped together

Fold your “bows” and wrap with the second rubber band.  Fluff, adjust, and all done.

Bows folded and secured with second rubber band

Bows folded and secured with second rubber band

I suppose you could get away with one rubber band it need be but I think two gives you more control of the fabric.  I think the finished result speaks for itself.

Hand tied bow

Hand tied bow

Quick and easy rubber band bow

Quick and easy rubber band bow

Such a simple solution.  Perfect bows forever more.

2 thoughts on “Big, Beautiful Bows

Leave a Reply

