Thoughts about Sewing, Empowerment, and Body Image

These are all primary reasons that make me so passionate about sewing clothes. I couldn’t say it any better if I tried.

Stale Bread into French Toast

As we near the end of Me-Made-May, it seems like a good time to share some thoughts about sewing, empowerment, and body image. Although I get a huge boost of self-sufficiency when I’m wearing the clothes I made, I actually don’t think much about sewing as it relates to how I feel about my body. Except for when I’m making pants. I originally wrote these thoughts as part of a proposed series on the Colleterie, which didn’t get off the ground, but it seems a shame not to get them out into the world. I thought about a lot of this again just recently when I was working on my trousers.

blue stripe trous and wool knits 4

I’m lucky that when I was growing up, my parents always stressed that I’m just fine the way I am. I’ve never had a really negative image of my body. But I have always had trouble finding pants…

View original post 500 more words

Leave a Reply

