Getting My Groove Back

Today is our second Sunday in our new house, and let me say, it is becoming wonderful.  Last night was the first time in a month I felt like I accomplished something in the sewing realm.  For those of you who sew as a hobby only that might not be such a big deal.  For me, I was used to sewing 8-10 hours a day before my daughter came along.  Since Miss L. entered the scene my sewing time has been cut back, but I was still sewing at least a few hours every day.

With this move we left behind our tiny apartment above my sewing business for a cute little brick house about a mile and a half away.  Biggest drawback?  Not being able to walk downstairs to my fully stocked and functional sewing studio/shop.  Biggest benefit?  Not being able to walk downstairs to my fully stocked and functional sewing studio/shop.  I definitely needed the separation from my work.  For one thing, many of my customers knew I lived just upstairs so it was very hard to draw solid boundaries for work and home time.

Now I am in the process of setting up my home sewing studio.  Sorry, I cannot be separated from my sewing machine!  I don’t bring alteration work home with me, but I will be working on my vintage reproduction clothing and corsets here at home.  I am now in a muddle trying to make my new space as happily functional as my shop space without making our new home look like the shop.  For the time being Miss L. and I are sharing the sitting room space.

Sitting Room1

Eventually I would love to finish off our walk up attic as an actual work at home studio, but that is a ways down the road.  But the sitting room works for now and will be even better when we get a chance to rip out these hideous carpets!!

2013-04-06 21.43.15

Today I was just happy to accomplish something that wasn’t unpacking.  I finally got to dive into my beautiful Du Barry pattern that has been on my too do list since my Mom gave it to me a couple of years ago.  Happy dance!

NewYearsCollage

The beautiful green dress on the left is the pattern I am tracing off.  I can’t wait to start putting it together!

2013-04-13 06.55.10

One thought on “Getting My Groove Back

Leave a comment