Sewing Funk

I’m having a rough time getting back into my sewing groove since I was sick a few weeks ago.  Too be entirely fair it has only been in the last few days that I have had anything like my normal energy levels.

Now I know for most of you it is no big deal to lose your sewing mojo, but sewing is my business.  It is how I pay the bills.  Or maybe I should say it was how I paid the bills.  Last fall we made the decision for me to cut back on my work load to allow me to dedicate my time to our daughter and her needs.  So I am not really in profit making mode as far as my production, I am in cover the expenses mode.  This arrangement was working very well for me because I was able take care of my daughter and still work on developing my vintage reproduction clothing line and hone my corset making skills.

Before I got sick I was focused and excited about what I was doing at home and what I was doing with my work.  Now I am just blah 😦  I miss my sewing machine, fabric, beautiful patterns, and even my alteration work, but I don’t seem to have enough desire to actually work on any of it.

Maybe it is just this stupid winter or our impending move, which I am very happy about, but I still have to pack.  Maybe I am not as recovered from this stupid plague as I thought or maybe it is because I haven’t been able to get to the gym in over a month.  Most likely it is all of the above.

I don’t like being in funks.  So tomorrow morning I am dragging myself to the gym.  If I could lasso the sun and drag it close enough to melt all this stupid snow I sure would do that too, but the gym will have to suffice for the moment.

 

5 thoughts on “Sewing Funk

  1. Don’t worry – you will be back at full speed when your body is ready. I too was ill in January and it took a long time to get over. I am only just feeling back to normal but it was worth the wait! I’m sure the gym will help.

    • Thanks, glad I am not the only one. Didn’t make it to the gym this morning, everything iced up last night and I didn’t feel like scraping my car off at 4:30 a.m. But that’s o.k., still looking for my missing hour of sleep from Sunday.

  2. I go through creative phases all the time. Sometimes I need a little down time to recharge my creative batteries. You watch.. when you’re back up and running something really wonderful will spring forth from your dormancy. 🙂

    • I think part of the problem is that I usually have so much work piled up that I can’t take time off the get better. Now that I can I don’t know what to do with myself. I know I probably need this funk more than anything, but it is damn uncomfortable and out of character for me 😉

Leave a Reply

