Snapshot Sunday

So I spent the last couple of days working on one of my current corset projects to the neglect of everything else.  I did not get around to my usual Saturday evening writing of my Sensible Sundays post.

But here is are some snapshots of the Electric Violet in progress.

The mock up in muslin

The mock up in muslin

Pile of pieces after cutting out the fashion fabric

Pile of pieces after cutting out the fashion fabric

On the dress form just to check shape

On the dress form just to check shape

 

In the picture above you can see that I have trimmed half of my seams for finishing with the boning channels.

Boning Channels attached

Boning Channels attached

And can you believe how much curve is already showing, even with out the boning in place yet?!  So cool I had to take a couple of pictures 🙂

Hip curve

Hip curve

All that is left is to put in the grommets for lacing, add the bones, and bind the edges!!  Hoping to have it done tomorrow afternoon.

 

2 thoughts on “Snapshot Sunday

    • Gabriela, Currently I am still using plastic zip ties. I have not invested in spiral or flat steels yet. Zips ties are inexpensive and easy to get locally (any hardware store carries them). I feel like I can practice my technique without too much concern for the cost of the garment. As I get better I will make the investment in steel. Also, my customers are as new to wearing corsets as I am to making them. Plastic bones are lighter weight, a tab more forgiving, and you can hand wash the finished garment without removing the bones.

Leave a comment