Sensible Sunday and the Saturday Apocalypse

Writing my Sensible Sunday posts on Saturday night is creating considerable cognitive dissonance because my Saturdays tend to be anything but sensible.

For some reason I have this irrational belief that Saturdays should be fantastically perfect.  I wait all week for Saturday to get to do the things I want to do.  Sleep in, relax, play, shop, bake, or whatever else strikes my fancy.  But it never quite works out the way I image or hope.  For one thing, my 4 year old doesn’t yet share my vision for the way Saturdays should be!

Saturdays generally start out great with the whole sleeping in bit, and they will even build up promisingly until lunch time.  But generally, after lunch, the signs of the toddler apocalypse start to reveal themselves.  A little whine, a little fuss, a stamp of the foot, blotchy cheeks, and droopy eyes.  Then begins the Battle of Armageddon, otherwise known as nap time and all plans for a wonderful, fun filled Saturday are out the window.  Sometimes she takes the much needed nap and sometimes she doesn’t.  But for Miss L, Saturdays are apparently the day to let out all of the crabby, irrational, emotional build up of our busy week days.  Can’t really complain.  Miss L is such a trooper every other day of the week I can’t begrudge her my delusionally perfect Saturday.

Anyway…..on to Sensible Sunday!

Clothes Etiquette:  Clothes that suit the place and the season.

I found this section interesting, entertaining, and exhausting.  In the early 1920s clothing was still very specific to the occasion. And occasion could simply mean time of day.   “Sporting” fashion included specific garments for tennis, golf, horseback riding, and general knockabout.  There were also clothes for afternoon, evening, street wear, travel, and business.

While I love vintage clothing this is when I am reminded that I am very glad I don’t actually live in the fashion restrictive time periods from which these wonderful clothes came.  For example, regarding the proper attire for tennis, a new game reaching common popularity in the 20s.

The accepted costume is all that could be desired for comfort-a short, two piece plaited silk or woolen skirt and a plain tailored blouse of batiste, handkerchief linen, or crepe de chine with comfortable V neck.  I might add that the popular woolen sports skirt is striped.

Tennis is a hatless game.  The hair ought to be dressed in a close simple manner.  A narrow ribbon tied around the head, low over the forehead in front and tied in the back is a becoming accessory which will serve to keep the hair in place.

White canvas or buckskin oxfords or shoes with flat rubber soles are the only footwear permissible for tennis.

Sorry!  When I think of tennis I think of sweat. Something “ladies” didn’t supposedly do back then.

Modern tennis still has a distinct corner of the fashion world all its own.  The rules of etiquette governing dress for tennis are still being challenged as evidenced by Serena Williams and her fashion adventures.

I found her commentary on golf attire to be most interesting in terms of the cultural fashion shift that was taking place in the 1920s.

Golf clothes seem to be in a state of evolution.  At some of the smart links, women are wearing tweed suits with knickers. it must be remembered that this is the extreme, not the generally accepted custom.  And it is a fact that a woman in knickerbockers is very conspicuous.

Bring on the knickerbockers ladies!  I couldn’t make it through an apocalyptical Saturday with out them!!

10 thoughts on “Sensible Sunday and the Saturday Apocalypse

  1. Now I could totally get behind some athletics if the outfits were more jaunty. I don’t want this modern spacesuit spandex business, I want jodphurs, pleated flannel and little hats. Knickerbockers would be much more fun to shop for!

  2. This was truly enjoyable. Having had four year olds at several different stages in my life (they are all in their late teens), I can attest to wishing and things not coming out the way I planned. But oh well, there is always next Saturday 🙂 m.

  3. I have the same vision for Saturday, each and every Saturday. And then it’s ruined because I’m tired, or sick, or I can’t stop reading a book on my Kindle. I have no 4 year old to blame… Only THIS 34 year old!!!!

Leave a Reply

