Camper Remodel

So we didn’t get to take our “new” old camper out this weekend on the test run we had been looking forward to, but I thought I would share some pictures of what it looks like now and some ideas of what we hope to do with it.

I was chatting with Rachel over at Always on the Fringe about vintage campers and I told her I would put up some pictures for her to see, so here they are!

Our 1968 Fan Camper

Lovely interior huh?! Already have the new foam for the cushions.

LOVED the appliances!!! That is what sold me on this camper:-)

So far we know the fridge and the stove work – 😀  Deep cleaned and found some mouse nests – yuck!  No leaks so that is good news.  Tossed those nasty cushions and we have the new foam already.  I have the fabric picked out for the curtains on equilter if you want to take a peak.  We haven’t decided if we are going to re-do the interior walls in all white or if we are going to go with wood paneling.   Not sure what color I am going with for the cushion covers yet either.  We are going to re-paint the stripe on the exterior to match the color of the appliances:-)

All in our spare time:-p

 

12 thoughts on “Camper Remodel

  1. Ahhhh!!! I love it!!! It actually looks a lot, both inside and out, like the 1971 New Paris Traveler we owned briefly. Yours is much MUCH more structurally sound than ours was, though! I can’t wait to see what you do with it! I love the fabric you picked out, too. We were going with a cabin theme so now I have a bunch of woodsy fabric full of trees, cabins, and deer that I’ll never use. 😀 I hope you’ll keep us updated on the progress! Thanks for sharing!

  2. We bought home for our growing family in l983 and I remember it had a turquoise range from the 60’s. There was a turquoise carpet in the huge living/dining room and various wallpapers that also employed the lovely color. Of course, all of that went with remodeling, but they are fond memories.. our camper looks very cozy.

    • I bet that turquoise carpeting was shag, too, right?! My grandparent’s house had that:-) Haven’t had a chance to use the camper yet. Have the new foam for the cushions and I have the new curtain fabric picked out, just need to order it. Once I get the curtain fabric I can pick out fabric for the cushions. Lots of over winter projects!

      • Actually, it was a berber style… not sure I could have lived with turquoise shag. 🙂

        You’ve got a great project going there with your camper and I’ll be interested to see how it turns out. Winter is the perfect time for project work.

  3. Jut here from the MasonBentley party. ( better late than never?) Love the appliances! Great idea to use that color as an inspiration. Can’t wait to watch this evolve.

Leave a Reply

