Hollywood Polka Dot Dress

 

 

 

 

Yay!!!  I finished one of my many projects much quicker than I was anticipating.  This early 1940’s Hollywood pattern has been calling to me for quite a while.

 

 

I have a large vintage pattern collection but most of the patterns I have made up have been late 1950’s or 1960’s.  This was my first attempt at an unprinted pattern.  If you are not familiar with pattern history, early tissue patterns were just plain tissue paper pieces without guidance lines or instructions on them at all.  Darts or other details are marked on the tissue with cut out holes.  Even the traditional lettering of each pattern piece is made with a series of punched out dots.

I have to admit I was rather intimidated to attempt one of these patterns.  I struggle as it is with modern printed patterns when it comes to things like right side/wrong side, mirror image, left side/right side kind of things.  I was afraid I was going to really struggle with a “blank” tissue paper piece.

But all of my fears were for naught!  It was easy to read the pattern once I figured out what I was looking for.  And it went together like a dream!!  I added the piping detail around the collar, front scallop, front waist and sleeve.  The original pattern called for lace (because this is actually a pajama pattern).  I thought the piping would dress it up nicely and really tie in well with the buttons.  The buttons were a vintage bonus.  I found them in my Grandma’s old button collection.

So what do you think?  I think it turned out pretty good straight from the pattern with no alterations.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Hollywood Polka Dot Dress

  1. Wonderful! These few warm days have made me too lasy to sit behind the sewing machine but your example is giving me new inspirations – besids the wearther in the Netherlands will be more ‘sewing weather’ soon… tipical Dutch summer 😉

  2. Pingback: Vintage Slip | One Stitch At A Time

Leave a Reply

