Scallop Finishes

So….I was playing with different options for trimming out the “scalloped” edge.  To me a scalloped edge is rounded.  I like using bias edging to finish rounded scallops but that did not sound like any sort of fun to me on these sharp, zig zaggy edges, so I thought I would see if I could find a way to finish the edge that wouldn’t make me too cranky 🙂

  1. The first attempt is black braid zigzagged right over the raw edge.  That actually worked quite well, but all I have on hand is black and I think the black is too harsh.
  2. Number 2 is the bias edging using the lavender satin that I initially pulled for the job.  It is o.k. but the color, while it matches, doesn’t really do anything for me.  And I am not happy with how clunky the edging looks.
  3. Brown satin edging…I really like the contrast.  Less harsh than the black and it actually ties in with the beige thread of the plaid.  Less clunky because I spent more time futzing with it, but still not happy.
  4. Brown satin piping….I think I found my answer:-)

Stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “Scallop Finishes

  1. Pingback: Choosing Scalloped Edge Finish « vpll1912project

  2. Hello I had such problems with the scallops on #0200. I too felt scallops are rounded not pointed. Of course the look has to go with the rows of buttons punctuating each scallop downthe side of the skirt. The brown satin pipin looks smart. Did you sew this piping inside the seams rather than over the top like bias?

    • Yes, I bagged it with the facing using a very narrow seam because I didn’t add any seam allowance to the scallops. I like the way it turned out and I think it will still look really nice with the buttons which I am going to cover with the brown satin. I have pictures of the process that I will post later today.

Leave a Reply

